Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

HUGE, HUUUUUGE NEWS

You know I haven't really used this diary as a place where I open up about my personal life in awhile. The reasons for that are countless, but that's all gonna' change right now.

Ready for a bombshell?

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

I'm a dad.

Let me say it again for those of you crawling up from the floor. Genghis-Jon-Is-A-Dad.

No, this isn't a joke. The immature guy you rely on daily for 3rd grade humor is responsible for bringing a child into the planet. Check the calander folks, it ain't April first.

A few years ago I met a woman in a bar and we had a one night stand. I hadn't know her previously from that night. She lived far away and was in town visting two friends of hers that she went to college with. I met her that night, we went back to my place and hooked up, and for all intents and purposes that was it. She was going back to from wherever she came from the next day. End of story....or so I thought.

A couple of months go by and a friend of mine who was with me that night calls me at work and said that he ran into one of the college friends of said girl, and said I was to call her immediately. He had no idea why, but said it sounded serious.

Expecting the worst, I called the number and my nightmare was confirmed. Her friend was pregnant and I was definately the father.

You folks have no idea what "uncomfortable" means until you call up a girl you barely even know and talk to her about how you're going to be a part of each others lives in one way or another forever.

It was bad. I mean BAD. She was crying, and I didn't know her well enough to console her, yet here we are having a child together. I couldn't breathe anyways. I nearly passed out as you could imagine. This had to of been the worst day of my life. I couldn't have been more scared if I fell out of an airplane.

Pretty bad, eh? Did I mention her husband? OH, silly me! Yes, the girl I hooked up with was married! I was actually lucky enough to be put on the phone with him. She said "My husband wants to talk to you, is that OK?"

"Sure, why not? This is already going great. Let's put your husband on the phone."

You're probably wondering how they knew it was my kid, I mean with a husband and all? Well, it seems that when men who have had vasectomies find out their wives are pregnant, they tend to ask questions, and soon enough guys like me get a call.

Anyways, I told her that whatever she wanted to do, I'll support. Just tell me what you need me to do and it'll be done. She thanked me for that, and said that they haven't made their minds up. That as soon as they did, they'll be in touch.

After that I got a second job. I was pretty sure child support city was the next stop in my life's journey, and I ought to get a head start.

A few weeks later I got a call from her. She said that they made a decision to keep the baby. She said that what's in the best interest of her and the child is for me to sign away full custody to her and her husband. She went on to elaborate, but was cut off with me saying "just tell me where to sign"

There wasn't much contact from then on. They told me when he was born (it was a boy!) I send gifts and stuff on his birthday and Christmas and all, but never see him. The gifts are from a "friend" of his parents. A friend that lives far away, and who'll never meet him. The father that's raising him is his father. They raise him to believe that, and I wouldn't have it any other way.

Anyways, what's brought me to write about my son for the first time in several years, and several hundred entries is that today I got a picture of the little fellow in an email. It was the first photo I got since he was born, and I was just so overwhelmed with emotions that I felt that I had to share it with the world.

I know some idiots out there are gonna' take this opportunity to cut me down when I'm at my most vulnerable, but fuck 'em. I'm so high right now I could give a shit. So, without further ado, are you ready to see my son?

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

DRUM ROLL

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

MY SON, ANDREW

Beautiful, isn't he?

Comments?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!