Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Genghis Jon Interviews Your Punk (Diaryland Survivor 4) Ass! Episode 8, Featuring Alternamommy!

Genghis Jon- It seems your ousting from the game wasn't due to your writing skills, but lack thereof. Are you disappointed in the way you were departed from the game?

Alternamommy- My lack of writing skills? I'm disappointed that my real life exploded during the game, since I really enjoyed the whole thing. I knew when I couldn't do the IC that I was a goner. I'm not upset that it got me voted out though, it's what I would have done and frankly, my children are way more important to me that being able to say "I won this online journaling contest."

Genghis Jon- Do you think the fact that you're a mother to small children gave you an unfair advantage in dealing with all the whining that's pertinent in competing in this game?

Alternamommy- It came in handy. I thought the whining was actually quite amusing. I'm still amazed at how seriously everyone else took this contest. It seems as though the contestants (with some notable exceptions) took it more as a game and the peripheral people (readers, judges etc) appeared to be way more into it.

Genghis Jon- If one of your children told you that they wanted to compete in Diaryland Survivor when they grew up, what part of Antartica would you move them to?

Alternamommy- Actually my daughter is quite the writer and I want very much to nurture that part of her. She'll be getting an Official KLo journal for Christmas and I want her to get into the habit of writing in it everyday. I honestly have to say that I enjoyed my part in the contest, got to read some great diaries, felt challenged by the ICs, and look forward to having a winner.

Genghis Jon- If Amazon.com sold Prozac, how much harder would you have played to win this game?

Alternamommy- You should pass that on to Amazon.com. I'm sure if they saw a profit in it, they'd sell it. However, I'll say it again: I got out of this what I expected to get out of it: creative challenges in my writing, and meeting some really great people. I never got into the whole alliance, Kim/Ginger, judges-passing-notes things. I did, however, get to see Scud in his boxers, making it all worthwhile.

Genghis Jon- July says that you remind him of the Duran Duran song, "None of the Above". What Kajagoogoo song reminds you of July?

"Too shy"

"Lie & Promises"

"Shouldn't do that" or

"Sit Down & Shut up"

Alternamommy- Too Shy. July reminds me of a guy who lets people see only what he wants them to see.

Genghis Jon- Who did you vote off and why?

Alternamommy- Honestly, I can't remember. I was wracking my brain to remember but there are gaps. I also feel a little wierd about revealing my choices while the game goes on. I'll say this: 90% of my choices were totally arbitrary, and had nothing to do with "winning the game". I had no strategy. Which, I'm sure, was apparant.

Genghis Jon- On your diary you have pictures posted of what appears to be your children, followed by "This is my religion." Do you worry that some NAMBLA members might stumble by and get converted?

Alternamommy- Yes, those are my children and no, I'm not worried. I refuse to live my life worried about how other people react to me or my choices. I can't control it, and I have far bigger issues in my life right now that are out of my control. People could take photos of my kids when we're at the grocery store, for heaven's sake.

Genghis Jon- As I was writing this, Disco The Kid came on the IM and asked me to say hi to you. What do you think he meant by that?

Alternamommy- I think he's one of those NAMBLA members you mentioned.

Genghis Jon- Who do you think will take this game?

Alternamommy- I won't say, because the remaining writers all have some great strengths and the final vote will be difficult. In some ways, I wish we could go back and start over, because I really feel like the first three weeks at least were a real "getting to know you" period and now that people's true colors have been revealed, it would be a very different game.

Genghis Jon- Sorry you were droppped, Mommy. You made it quite far in the game and who knows how far you would have gotten if you didn't have other resposibilities to tend to. Do you think you could have won this?

Alternamommy- Hell yeah. Seriously, I don't know. I know I'm pleased with my ICs and the effort behind them and that's what was important to me. I wish I had more time to do the last IC, because I would have loved to participate further, but my priorities were in order and I don't regret my choice.

Genghis Jon- How do you want to be remembered?

Alternamommy- Am I dying? Do you know something I don't know?

Genghis Jon- And lastely, I just want to sat that the judges are angry, the contestants are angry, the hosts are understandably turning into raging alcoholics, people have quit the game, locked their diaries, nobody trusts anybody, madness has taken over, and if anybody came into the game with a friend, they now look at that person as an agent of satan. Anyways, I just wanted to take this moment to wish you and your family a very merry Christmas, and a happy, healthy, and safe New Year.

Alternamommy- Right back at ya. But are you sure you don't want to talk about Kim?

Comments?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!